Going lite & minimal

Come to think of it, I have a fetish over small, slim, simple stuff. 

When I bought my iMac few years back, I have chosen the 21.5” 4K version over the bigger 27” 5K one. I have owned and loved the WH-1000XM3 headphone, but after living with it for a year, I realized that I wasn’t really a headphone guy and since then fall back to using earbuds. And when it comes to iPhone, I have tried to shy away from the Plus or Max variant most of the time.

The same goes with my photography. I have been a long time prime lens shooter, preferring the small, tiny lens over big-long-heavy zooms. When I have decided to switch to Sony and zoom lenses, I tried my best to pick the smallest and lightest zoom lenses I could find. 

Perhaps its a personality thing as I am pretty minimalist. I prefer simplicity and that’s shown through my life, the decision I made, and even the photographs I took. I believe it is important to have this kind of understanding about yourself, as that would allow you to make better decisions.

Like for instance, with the release of new WH-1000XM5 headphone from Sony, despite how good it is, I knew that it isn’t for me and therefore will not go out to buy one. Or when deciding over A and B, I will always chose the simpler, minimal version that is good enough for my needs. 

Spend some time to talk to yourself, reach deep into your heart. You will then know more about yourself and ultimately, I think this will bring some positive impact to you. Till then.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.