Airalo Travellers eSIM

I was travelling back to Malaysia during Chinese New Year holiday, normally I would just subscribe to the roaming data package from my telco provider, but this time around I decided to try out something new, traveller eSIM from Airalo.

To get started, all you need to do is just download their app and create an user account. Once done, you can browse for available package and make your purchase using credit card directly. Comparing to my usual telco data roaming, the key difference lies on the setup process. 

For my existing telco provider, all I need to do is to turn on data roaming after purchasing roaming data package from their app. For Airalo, after purchasing the roaming package, I need to setup the eSIM on my phone. There’s a step by step guide provided, but due to software update on smartphones, some of the steps in the guide may not be up to date. The setup process was a little intimidating for the first time, nevertheless it wasn’t too complicated to figure out. Once done, just need to turn on the eSIM and data roaming when you arrive at your destination.

I have tried using Airalo in Malaysia and Cambodia, overall the experience had been fairly positive in terms of network stability and speed. Prices were slightly cheaper than the usual roaming package provided by my current telco, and I get to keep the eSIM for future use by just topping it up like a prepaid SIM using Airalo app.

All in all, I found such solution is a good alternative to consider. Bear in mind that depends on the package, some only offer data without local phone number. However, you get to keep using messaging services such as iMessage and WhatsApp with your existing number. 

There are other traveller eSIM service providers out there, if you are interested, feel free to explore them. This solution is ideal for eSIM only smartphones, or phones without additional physical SIM slot for local SIM card. Definitely a good option to consider when you are traveling abroad.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.